UnidosUS Commends Main Street Caucus Leaders’ Strong Support for Legislative Fix for DREAMers

In letter addressed to Speaker Paul Ryan, Republican Main Street Caucus Urge Action for nation’s DREAMers

WASHINGTON, DC—Heeding the call for action, House Republicans representing the Republican Main Street Caucus joined the bipartisan chorus of leaders urging a legislative solution for DREAMers. On a press call this morning hosted by Representatives Scott Taylor, Dan Newhouse and Jeff Denham, Caucus leaders discussed a letter submitted to House Speaker Paul Ryan voicing their support for a permanent fix for DREAMers and the urgent need to address the issue before the end of the year.

“We commend the steps Main Street Caucus leaders are taking to keep advancing relief for DREAMers, and keeping this issue at the national forefront and at the top of the legislative agenda. With hundreds of thousands of lives hanging in the balance, the time to act is now, and with the support of the Main Street Caucus, it is clear that the votes are there to achieve a solution for these young people by the end of the year,” said Clarissa Martinez De Castro, Deputy Vice President at UnidosUS.

“Despite claims to the contrary, this issue cannot wait until next year. Nearly 22,000 DACA recipients were unable to renew in time and about 11,000 have already lost protections ahead of March. We cannot sit idly and watch our DREAMers recede into the shadows. We are prepared to work with lawmakers across the political spectrum to find a solution for all DREAMers,” Martinez de Castro added.

Among the letter’s 34 signatories: Rep. Scott Taylor (VA); Rep. Dan Newhouse (WA); Rep. Mia Love (UT); Rep. Mark Amodei (NV); Rep. David Valadao (CA); Rep. David Reichert (WA); Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (PA); Rep. Mike Coffman (MO); Rep. Charlie Dent (PA); Rep. Frank LoBiondo (NJ); Rep. Peter King (NY);Rep. Carlos Curbelo (FL); Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (FL); Rep. Ryan Costello (PA); Rep. Fred Upton (MI); Rep. Jeff Denham (CA); Rep. Rodney Davis (IL); Rep. John Faso (NY-19); Rep. John Katko (NY); Rep. Chris Stewart (UT); Rep. Susan Brooks (IN); Rep. Adam Kinzinger (IL); Rep. Glenn Thompson (PA); Rep. Mike Simpson (IN); Rep. Mimi Walters (CA); Rep. Leonard Lance (NJ); Rep. Pat Meehan (PA); Rep. Elise Stefanik (NY); Rep. Tom MacArthur (NJ); Rep. Chris Smith (NJ); Rep. Jenniffer González-Colón (PR); Rep. Joe Barton (TX).